Where does my desire for good things come from?

Ultimately this is a hard topic to talk about. Why? Well good  in and of itself is a relative thing. What I think is good you might not. I think that sushi is really tasty and therefore good, but you might not. Soccer is good, you might disagree. So when I say good, at least in the context of this topic I am speaking of quality. Now that raises another question, what is quality? How can you tell a quality good apart from something that is not? I believe this question is much easier to answer than most would believe.

Quite frankly I love good things. Not just good on the moral spectrum, but good on the quality spectrum. This can include food, electronics, clothes, music, art, accessories (like bags, pens, paper, notebooks etc) but is not limited to just these things. This was jammed into my head at a young age, quality over quantity. I heard that in science class, math class, when I was taking tests, buying clothes or playing sports. It stuck, and has shaped how I view our consumeristic society. But why? Why do I care about good quality products?

Though I have cared about good quality things almost my entire life, I am just now being awakened to the tip of iceberg as to why. As I have grown in my faith, I have realized that the Gospel does impact every area of my life. This includes the desire for quality, over quantity. See at the very core of why we yearn for good things is the Gospel.

“And God said, “Let the waters under the heavens be gathered together into one place, and let the dry land appear.” And it was so. God called the dry land Earth, and the waters that were gathered together he called Seas. And God saw that it was good.
…The earth brought forth vegetation, plants yielding seed according to their own kinds, and trees bearing fruit in which is their seed, each according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.
…And God set them in the expanse of the heavens to give light on the earth, to rule over the day and over the night, and to separate the light from the darkness. And God saw that it was good.
…And it was so. And God made the beasts of the earth according to their kinds and the livestock according to their kinds, and everything that creeps on the ground according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.
…And it was so. And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good. And there was evening and there was morning, the sixth day.” (Genesis 1 ESV, emphasis & edits mine)

We see that from the beginning God created all things to be good. Everything that was touched by God’s creative hand and breath is good. That includes us. A part of Genesis says that God created us in His image. Therefore, God created us with a desire for good things.

This can be seen in the life and ministry of Jesus too. For instance take the miracle when Jesus turned water into wine. He didn’t merely turn water into bottom-shelf, cheap wine. He transformed water into good wine.

“When the master of the feast tasted the water now become wine, and did not know where it came from (though the servants who had drawn the water knew), the master of the feast called the bridegroom 10 and said to him, “Everyone serves the good wine first, and when people have drunk freely, then the poor wine. But you have kept the good wine until now.” (John 2: 9-10 ESV)

Jesus could have just as easily made the wine decent, or poor wine as the master calls it. Instead he chose to make good wine.

However satisfying these reasons might be, deep down I know there is one more that is the pinnacle to my enjoyment and desire for good things. It’s in Christ himself. In Christ we see the best of the best. We see the purest, greatest and only perfect thing to have touched this world. John 3: 16 says that “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son…” God, the creator of the universe, the creator of all things good, sent to us His Son, whom is good. God sent his perfect, good Son, not His ok, mediocre son. Christ is the manifestation of all things good. This is where my desire for good things starts and ends. In Christ I have the ultimate good quality relationship.

However this desire spills over into the world as, like I stated earlier, I realize how the Gospel effects every aspect of human life. Including food, consumer electronics, clothes, music, movies, relationships, and the list goes on and on. The Gospel challenges me to care about and invest in good quality things, but to hold them in check and realize that the only way I can do that holistically is to hold onto that feeling in my relationship with Christ, who is the only perfect man.

This entry was posted in Apologetic Thursdays, Global Mind and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

