Rich Mullins and Pipe Organs

As a worship leader for Veritas, I’m often asked about our song selection. Some people are thrown off in a certain week when we have an acoustic set. Others seem bothered when we play more upbeat songs. I’m the same way. When I go to church back at home in St. Louis, I complain about the pipe organ and Rich Mullins songs. I get frustrated and say things like, “I just can’t worship in this setting”, or “ this music isn’t right for me”.

 So what do we do when we don’t like the worship music?

I remember first dealing with this problem in high school. I told my mom that I could not connect with the worship at our traditional church and that I wanted to try going to a new church. She said no. At first I was confused and frustrated. Why should I not go to a different church where I can better worship God? I think I’m starting to understand why she wouldn’t let me go.

The question that begs to be asked is what is the heart behind my dissatisfaction with the worship? What is going on in my heart when I nitpick and dissect everything that a worship leader does? As Addison mentioned in his last blog, we live in a consumeristic society and because of that, we think that worship leaders should cater to us. Our heart when we pick apart everything at a worship service or even dislike the songs is a selfish heart. So, why is this a problem? Because true worship has nothing to do with personal preference of songs, it is about our hearts. As followers of Christ, we should be able to worship God whether we are at Veritas or the Crossing; whether the songs are contemporary or traditional.

So, if you find yourself sitting in a worship service criticizing and not liking the songs, take a look at your heart. As a worship leader, I can assure you that we spend lots of time picking songs and arranging the worship services.

Psalm 95:6-6

Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD, our Maker! For he is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, the sheep of his hand.

So, instead of worrying about who wrote the songs that are played or what instruments are in the band, we have to try to focus on worshipping the king!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rich Mullins and Pipe Organs

  1. Heidi says:

    I really needed to hear this today. thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

