You Will Not Abandon My Soul

I’ve been reading through the Psalms lately and have been reminded of the messiness of the human condition. Chapter after chapter move across a wide variety of emotions: adoration toward God, desperation for salvation, thankfulness for God’s care, sorrow over sin, the battle of fear and trust, and confidence in the eventual triumph of God’s purposes for the world.

God is a God who allows us to draw near to him in complete honesty. Struggling with sin? God wants to hear about it. Trying to think through a doubt about your faith? Take that to God. Joyful and thankful over a circumstance in your life? Share that with the Lord. Honesty in prayer is hard, but the Psalms help us to express our emotions to the God who cares about them.

Consider Psalm 16, a Psalm that has recently been an encouragement to my soul:

Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord;
I have no good apart from you.”

…The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup;
you hold my lot.
The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.

I bless the LORD who gives me counsel;
in the night also my heart instructs me.
I have set the LORD always before me;
because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices;
my flesh also dwells secure.
For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol,
or let your holy ones see corruption.

You make know to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Put your confidence and contentment in his care. Delight in God’s constant presence, and have a hope of everlasting joy.

Bring your struggles, doubts, and thoughts to the God who cares about you. And use the Psalms to increase your trust and confidence in the Lord.

About Colleen Kelly

I graduated from Mizzou in May '09 with an English degree and joined staff with Veritas soon after. I'm originally from St. Louis, but love living in Columbia. Things I love: reading (anything and everything), walking, being outside, coffee, conversation, theology, exploring, saturdays, and adventures.
This entry was posted in Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

