Christmas Lights – for those who love Coldplay, and those who don’t.

I can still remember driving around with my family to see the Christmas lights in many of the Saint Louis neighborhoods when I was a child. My sisters and I would eagerly await the drive home from our aunt’s house on Christmas eve when we would request one lighted detour after another. Those warm memories are a far, nostalgic cry from the first few lines of Coldplay’s recent single:

“Christmas night. Another fight. Tears we cried, a flood. Got all kinds of poison in, of poison in my blood”

Indeed, “Christmas Lights” certainly doesn’t seem very Christmas-like. And for many, that is true. Christmas is a time for reconnecting and rekindling, rejoicing in our family and friends, and most of all in the love of our Savior Jesus. So why does Coldplay characterize one of the most joyful holidays as a melancholy piano ballad?

I speak for many when I express that Holidays, especially Christmas, are some of the most difficult days of the year. Being around family can mean feeling old wounds and facing brokenness. This makes some of us acutely aware of the “poison” in our blood and in others; that sinful nature within us that gnaws and tears and threatens to alienate us from people, and has ultimately alienated us from God.

“Warm memories” of loving family are long buried for me as well. My parents divorced nearly a decade ago, and since those rough years there has been so much healing. My dad was remarried this past fall to a wonderful woman, and my mother has grown tremendously in her faith. But still, there lingers at times a feeling that wholeness we once had is forever lost, and it may always persist…or will it?

Coldplay’s song ends with these lines:

“Those Christmas lights light up the street, light up the fireworks in me, may all your troubles soon be gone, those Christmas lights keep shining on.”

As we come into a new year, I want to encourage you with this message. Christmas celebrates the miraculous birth of Christ – God with us – into a fallen, broken, undeserving world. It celebrates a Hope against all odds, and a power beyond human comprehension that has come to redeem, restore and make new. Even in the midst of difficult seasons we can have joy. Even those of us facing economic woes and enduring the burdens of broken families can call on Jesus who is mighty to save.

Habakkuk 3:18-19 “Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign Lord is my strength; He makes my feet like the feet of a deer, He enables me to tread on the heights.”

Let’s look to God and see what ways He has redemption in store for 2011.

Cheers.

About Sam Kruvand

I grew up in St. Louis and graduated from Mizzou in 2011 with a degree in History and Classics. Right now I'm raising support in St. Louis to go on staff with Veritas. God loves to restore and heal, and I try to reflect that truth in my writing. My favorite authors are C.S Lewis, G.K Chesterton, and Tim keller. I love hot coffee, old books, and most anything involving mountains!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Lights – for those who love Coldplay, and those who don’t.

  1. Kelsieshearrer@hotmail.com says:

    I first listened to this song when you posted it on your fb page. I became obsessed, the video is beautiful. I feel like christmas lights took on a whole new meaning for me this year. They hold so much beauty in darkness. I am thankful to live in a country where so many people (Jesus Lovin’ or not) string up lights every year. It is such a beautiful reminder for me of hope. I always watch the video ’til the end and wait for the gorgeous fireworks.

  2. bekvand says:

    amen brother. great post, thank you for sharing.

  3. roxanne says:

    I have yet to listen to the song. But—your entry brought tears to my eyes. The brokeness, wounds, tearing and gnawing, I know well. The promise of Christ gives me great hope and comfort! Burk Parsons says it well in this excerpt from TableTalk:
    “As we live before the face of God each day with real reasons for real anxiety, we can rest assured that His sovereignty (not ours) – His control (not ours) – His faithfulness (not ours) – is our only real hope in this sad world. For that which he creates He sustains, that which He authors He perfects, and that which He begins He completes. And whether we are comfortably numb”, (Hey, Sam what’s the musical reference here?) “to our anxieties or fully aware of them, it is neither our acceptance , control, nor rationalization of them that will free us from our self-created, self-controlled, self-contained prisons of anxiety. We will only be free when we become as dependent on God as the birds of the air.

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

