Filling the Facebook Void

I wanted to share with you a great post written by journalism major Kelly Hagen on her decision to deactivate from Facebook for the summer.  Please note that I am in not suggesting you log off, but only offering some thoughts on the role Facebook has in our life (after all, I am a happy Facebook user and plan to continue my moderate use of it).  Just thought this was interesting and had some great points to think about.  Here’s a few bits from it to whet your appetite:

“Don’t want to play all holier-than-thou and say that my motives were pure. They weren’t. They aren’t. I get frustrated when high school acquaintances’ hourly updates flood my newsfeed, unfortunately reminding me of their existence. I don’t want to deal with the guilt trip of a thousand event invitations to things I only feel obliged to attend. I cringe when I friend a very recent acquaintance and hours later get the unwanted message with a phone number and awkward online ask-out. Or worse yet, I hate noticing those solicitations, in post form, on other people’s walls and, rather unwillingly, feeling all the emotions of a jealous outsider.

All these interactions, both hypothetical and experienced, fed into my growing need to be removed. I had to flee– to cling to a last remaining outpost of privacy, to preserve my internal locus of control, to regain my independence. My “friends” on Facebook (and, admittedly, my actions with them), began to make me feel as though I was surrendering my judgment, morals, expressions, and decisions to the fluctuations of the community and its pooled standards. Or at least that I was putting everything important and valuable to me up on a pedestal for display, hoping to be affirmed, hoping to be praised, hoping to be noticed.

…..

The clincher for me to deactivate was the realization that Facebook had begun monopolizing my most precious resource as a human: time. As mentioned earlier in the section about actualization, Facebook is easy, usually brainless, and somewhat rewarding when you find information you are looking for. It’s an activity that, for burned-out college students, affords a sense of routine, a kind of calmness, a neatly contained study break. Except these attributes assigned to Facebook activity are rarely true (at least in my experience and observation). One is rarely on Facebook for the amount of time they originally expect. Five minutes easily turns into a half-hour, and a half-hour can be made into an entire afternoon or evening when one is really set on procrastination.”

Read the whole thing here, and please share your comments!  I would love to hear your thoughts after reading.

About Colleen Kelly

I graduated from Mizzou in May '09 with an English degree and joined staff with Veritas soon after. I'm originally from St. Louis, but love living in Columbia. Things I love: reading (anything and everything), walking, being outside, coffee, conversation, theology, exploring, saturdays, and adventures.
This entry was posted in Campus Mind, Gospel Lifestyle, Postmodernism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

