Memory Test

Let’s cut to the chase – Where is memorizing Scripture on your priority list? When was the last time you intentionally memorized Scripture?  Do you see a need to memorize Scripture, or do you not have time for it?  David found time to memorize Scripture, and he was the King of Israel!

Psalm 119:11 – I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 119:97-98 – Oh how I love your law!  It is my meditation all the day.  Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is ever with me.

A couple months ago I was very convicted about this.  You see, I thought I was just too busy and it wasn’t worth taking the time to sit and memorize verses.  I told myself that I had enough reading and other responsibilities as it is and piling on one more thing just wasn’t worth it.  All I had time for was to attempt to remember bits and pieces of Scripture every now and then, but I would remember about a third of the verse.  To make myself feel better I told myself, “That’s ok, I know the gist of the verse.”  Everyone who can identify with me, raise your hand (seriously do it…a random hand raise is pretty funny).  My guess is I’m not alone.

But here is where you and I are wrong – memorizing Scripture is a big deal and is without a doubt worth taking time for.  Jesus Himself memorized Scripture!  (Matthew 4:1-11)  For the sake of brevity I will state this as simply as I can.  If we want to have a saving faith in Christ that will endure to the end we have to read, wrestle with, meditate, and feast on God’s Word. It is the means by which God tells us the realities of the Gospel of Christ.  Look at just a few of the descriptions of God’s Word:

It is sharper than a two-edged sword (Heb 4:12)

It is living and abiding (1 Peter 1:23)

It revives the soul and is to be desired more than gold (Psalm 19:7,10)

It is breathed out by God and able to make us wise for salvation (2 Timothy 3:16)

These verses tell us our soul needs constant revival and that we need to be continually made wise for salvation.  We all are stubborn and stupid like sheep and forget where eternal satisfaction is found.  So whether you became a Christian 5 minutes ago or 5 decades ago, we all need to be cleansed of our indwelling sin (Romans 7:17).  And the written word of God is the means by which He guarantees such renewal happens!

So when can you memorize and meditate on Scripture?  How about getting up 15 minutes earlier?  How would your life change if you memorized 1 verse a day for an entire year while you walked to class?  You and I are not the King of Israel, and if David could find time to memorize Scripture, I guarantee you and I can.  The big question is, do you see a need to and do you really want to?

About austinpconner

I am originally from St. Louis, MO, and graduated from MU in 2007 and have been on staff with Veritas for almost 4 years. In addition to being on staff, I am a full time student at Covenant Seminary in St. Louis. One more minor detail: my wife Polly and I had our first child last June - Adelyn Grace Conner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memory Test

  1. N.T. Wright suggested that the students at the conference he was speaking at memorize Ephesians. Start by memorizing verse one in a day, then the next day memorize verse two and say both verses by heart, then the next day memorize verse three and say all three verses by heart, etc, etc. So that’s what I started doing. Of course we can do this with any book of the Bible too.

  2. haleyg says:

    Oh Austin! This is so important. Wonderful post. I’m inspired.
    And that was a good suggestions, too, Kyle.

Leave a Reply

