what keeps you awake?

You know when you’re driving someplace and all of the sudden you’re at your destination and wonder what happened between point A and point B? –You’re just miraculously there, and thank goodness you didn’t get in a wreck because you apparently weren’t paying attention in between! We can just follow traffic, follow road signs, and follow the cars around us without even thinking. I always look back in amazement at the things in life I once didn’t know how to do that I now do without even thinking… talking, reading, writing, driving. We learn how to doing things and they become second nature. However, one of my greatest frustrations in life is living in cruise control –having a daily routine that just flows… so much so that I forget to take action in the things that mean the most to me.

Throughout different seasons of my life, I often come up with a phrase or motto that describes what I’m learning or striving for. It acts as a little reminder to me of what I’m striving for when I lose perspective. Recently, my phrase has been active faith. What I really mean when I say that is, what are the things that keep my faith alert and awake, so as not to fall into a routine or idle place in my relationship with the Lord?

In Ephesians, Paul writes some of my favorite verses:

‘Wake up, O sleeper, and rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.
Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best
use of your time, because the days are evil.
Therefore, do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.’

Wake up! Be active. Live wisely. Make the most of your time every day. –What a powerful call on our lives.

Right before this, Paul is talking about walking in the light -where growth occurs and fruit is found. There is goodness in being exposed before one another -sharing in the frustrations of this life and holding one another accountable to the hardships and distractions in this world. Recently I heard something that really captured this idea. ‘In order to stay awake, you need awake people around you.’ I think this is a reminder to me that we are called to live in community with others, and that community needs to be mutually awake and striving to live in accordance with God’s will for our lives. We should note that God’s will in this context is not a specific outlined will, but the principles that the Bible outlines for a godly life.

The Bible very clearly teaches us to stay awake. Faith, or belief in Christ, is not something that you accept and then carry on with your life with a check mark in the faith box. It takes discipline and action, surrender and accountability. It’s something that I know I need others to help keep me awake.

So I ask you, what are the things that keep you awake in your faith?

About noellerichter

I came on staff with Veritas after graduating from Mizzou in 2007 with a degree in Communications. I love all things creative, photography, witty or off-beat television shows, reading, and anything outside. Some of my favorite authors are Tim Keller, John Piper, and John Steinbeck.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and Theology, Why I am a Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

