Where does your iHappiness lie?

Yep, I did it.  See ya, Sprint.  Hello, AT&T.  I’m the proud owner of a new Apple iPhone. I say that not to boast, although I’ve got to admit, I feel much cooler. I’ve got the world at my fingertips and nobody can stop me.  And apps?  Yep, I’ve got those too. What more could a technology junkie ask for?

My recent acquisition, coupled with a few recent staff devotions aimed towards the root of our happiness, has stirred up within myself the internal struggle I have quite often of where my happiness is found.  I think it’s an issue most of us can relate to – finding our joy and satisfaction in things apart from God.  Whether it be materialistic prosperity, acceptance from peers, comfort, pleasure, relationships, or many others, in some way we all let these things define our state of happiness.  What’s really happening here is that these things have become idols in our lives.  We look for satisfaction and happiness in these things, yet when we’re truly honest with ourselves, they ultimately leave us empty and unhappy apart from God.

However, Psalm 90:14 says, “Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.”  Here we see Moses crying out to God, asking for Him alone to satisfy them (Moses’ people) with His steadfast love.  And what is the proper response to this love?  Rejoicing and gladness all our days!  Oh, how much more satisfying is the love of Christ than the things of this world!

I want to say that these things – materialism, technology, comfort, etc. – are not bad in and of themselves; it’s our abuse of them that makes them wrong.  I love my iPhone for many great reasons (ask me later).  But if my ultimate satisfaction becomes the enjoyment that I get from such things, I’ve lost sight of what I was created for – to be happy and satisfied in Christ.  God created me to be happy in Him!

The ESV Study Bible says that proper joy “comes in the form of rejoicing in God’s salvation and placing our affections rightly in God’s will and his purpose.”  So let me ask you: is your number one happiness the steadfast love of the Lord?  Do you have a joyful heart that is centered on Christ, a heart that delights in the hope of the resurrection?  Or do you find your happiness apart from God?

About Kyle Richter

I graduated from Mizzou in 2007. I was a member of FarmHouse Fraternity and maintain an avid interest in greek life at Mizzou. Currently I'm on staff with Veritas and attending Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis.
This entry was posted in Gospel Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where does your iHappiness lie?

  1. Thanks for the post. I just wrote a blog on the things I put my hope in, but the thing I forgot to mention is how idolatrous I feel when I do it. When someone makes something other than God ultimate in his heart, he will ultimately get disappointed and despair will ensue. Blaise Pascal says that we have a God shaped vacuum in our hearts that only God can fill. Trying to fill it with something smaller than God still leaves us empty. However, when we fill our hearts with God, we can be satisfied and still enjoy the other pleasures in this world, but in a healthier and more godly way.

Leave a Reply

