Do you know truths?

If I were to ask you if you believed God is a God of love, no doubt you would most likely say yes. But if I asked you to give me a verse that says God is love, would you be able to tell me one? What if I asked for verses that say God is faithful, wise, strong, powerful, righteous, etc? These are all truths about who the Lord is, yet many of us cannot explain from where we know them, or why we believe them.

We know characteristics of God, but we don’t always know scripture that coincides with that. How can we believe the truth about in times of struggle, or even in our daily lives, when his Word doesn’t abide in us?

I’ve recently been convicted of this. I know truths of God, but I forget the importance of memorizing scripture, specifically scripture that speaks truth into my heart about who God is. John Piper writes in Desiring God,

“Let us labor to memorize the Word of God – for worship and warfare. If we do not carry it in our heads, we cannot savor it in our hearts or wield it in the Spirit.” (p. 154)

How true this is! When I am suffering, nothing is more comforting and encouraging than time spent memorizing verses and meditating on scripture. To aid in this, I have recently started writing down scripture in my journal that speaks different truths about God such as these:

“Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations…” – Deuteronomy 7:9

“He is wise in heart and mighty in strength – who has hardened himself against him and succeeded?” – Job 9:4

“The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is full of majesty.” – Psalm 29:4

As I have been writing these down, I have also been slowly memorizing them, tackling one verse every couple of days. My heart is encouraged, comforted, reproved and instructed in this and it is helping me to be able to turn to different verses for specific times of my life. In times when I feel alone I can cling to verses that remind me of the Lord’s love and grace towards me. When I feel like nothing is going right in my life, I can rely on verses that speak of the Lord’s faithfulness and his promise that he has a plan for me. Without having different verses like this memorized, my heart is prone to easily slip into unbelief instead of faith in the promises of God and who he says he is.

“Oh how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day.” – Psalm 119:97

About jessiparrett

I graduated from Mizzou with a degree in Magazine Journalism and came on staff with Veritas shortly after. I'm originally from St. Louis, but now consider Columbia my home. I love: reading, coffee, spending time outside, getting to know people and traveling.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

